Attending the hairdressing school, students learn how to cut, style, and dye men’s hair and facial hair. Cosmetology programs focus on teaching a wider range of services such as hair, makeup, nails, and skin care for men and women, while the hairdressing school is aimed at hairdressers who want to specialize in men’s hair.
Hairdressing school programs provide a basic overview and start with things like safety, theory and hygiene and then move on to advanced techniques for cutting, shaving, and coloring. Most hairdressing school programs last between 9 and 12 months. In addition to attending the hairdressing school, students are required to undergo compulsory training for a certain number of hours.
Students are not allowed to earn money to cut hair or charge for other hairdressing services while attending the hairdressing school. This is because the students are not yet licensed.
How to become a hairdresser in Texas
To be a hairdresser in Texas, one must complete a 1,500-hour program or a hairdressing school and graduate. One must also take the practical and theoretical licensing exams in Texas and get a passing score.
A hairdressing license must be obtained from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations and the Texas license must be renewed every two years. No hairdresser is allowed to operate with an expired license.
The Texas State Board of Barber Examiners requires several courses for barber training programs. These include:
- Basic Chemistry
- Texas Barber Laws and Rules
- Hair weaving
- Science of hairdressing
- Histology of hair, skin, muscles and nerves
- Skin and hair problems
- Hygienic bacteriology
- Facial treatment
- Head, neck and facial structures
- Wig Services
The requirements for becoming a hairdresser are unique, depending on the state in which you want to get a license. A requirement in the state of Texas is that hairdressers must complete a certain number of program hours based on the types of hairdressing licenses they wish to obtain.
Types of hairdressing licenses
- Hairdresser teacher
- Class A Hairdresser
- Hairdressing Technician-Special License
- Hairdresser-Hair weaving-special certificate
- Hairdresser-Manicure-Special license
- Hairdressing Technician / Hair Weaver Certificate
- Certificate Hairdressing technician / Manicurist
You must be at least 16 years old to qualify. Special hairdressers and hairdressing instructors must be at least 18 years old. Applicants wishing to obtain a license in Texas must take a practical and written exam. Attending a hairdressing school and training with an experienced hairdresser will provide the necessary comprehensive education to pass the exam and get a state license.
Students have 100 minutes to complete the first part of the test, the written exam. There are a number of cities in Texas where you can take the test on the computer. The written part of the exam is designed to test the student’s knowledge and mastery in all areas, from the best hygiene practices to chemical waving.
The practical part of the exam lasts 180 minutes and requires aspiring hairdressers to have their own supply kits, mannequins and models. Their performance is evaluated by a group of experts and includes seven different hairdressing services: hair shaping, shampooing, shaving, perming, as well as facial and chemical services.